Defining My Photographic style

I have uncovered a fascination in finding beauty in the ordinary, an appreciation in surveying the human interaction within the landscape environment, and searching for a unique perspective in the everyday life. Though predominantly a pictorialist, I have found to develop an inclination towards the style of classical realism, a general preference for order, beauty, harmony and completeness. I love how the play on lights and the use of vibrant colours can be incorporated into the image, depending on the context of the story I am telling.

EXAMPLES OF TECHNIQUES THAT INTERESTS ME

With the advancement of camera technologies and the provision of heuristic image editing tools, image manipulation has never become so widespread such that when a new technique of digital photography is discovered, it becomes a spectacle, a focal point for people wanting to know how it is done. This is common in many camera magazines, in the sense that it entice its audience by showing the final result of that ‘advance’ technique and explaining its procedures step by step; pursuaying would-be buyers to make their purchase. Hence I would think coming from a technical standpoint is another way of determining my favourite images.

Panorama

Photograph Panorama Mont Saint Michel by Ramelli Serge on 500px
Mont Saint Michel by Ramelli Serge


Exposure Blending
(HDR)

Fong Qi Wei – Golden Mile Sunset

Single Frame Time-lapse Photo

Pelle Cass – Selected People 

Brenizer Method

Sam Hurd – The First Kiss

PHOTOGRAPHIC THEMES THAT INTERESTS ME

#Cityscape  #Journalism  #Landscape  #Nature  #Sunset  #People  #Events  #Travel #Colours #Cinematic

IMAGES FROM PAST PHOTO-COMPETITION WINNERS

In this age of digital photography, photographers can now upload their images to photo sharing websites to show their best works to the world. These photo images could well be an entry for photo competitions. And many photo competitions would require participants to submit online, and these winning entries could also be viewed online. Subsequently after the competition, these winning entries would be compiled into the form of books and prints.

Over the years, there are many books that curate these works and of many different themes and genres. Some of these books offer the photographers’ perspective, sometimes accompanied by the author’s analysis of why these photographs are successful. Hence I think winning images of past photo-competitions could well be a source of influence to learn from. Some of the well-known photo competitions that became my source of inspiration includes:

– Singapore Young Photographers Awards (SYPA),
– Singapore Canon Photo Marathon
– World Press Photo competition,
– Sony World Photo Competition,
– National Geographic photo contests, etc.

IDENTIFYING DIFFERENT APPROACHES

There are too many inspiring images produced by great photographers out there. Where do I make my starting point? How do select the right images? I think there are a quite few different approaches I can go about to decide the images that influences my photographic practices, or the images that I admire and interest me.

1) Inspiring photographers that inspire me?
2) Images that influences my photographic style?
3) Photographic / Camera techniques?
4) Images from Past photo-competition winners?
5) Photographic Themes?
6) Images on First impression?

INSPIRING PHOTOGRAPHERS INFLUENCING MY PHOTOGRAPHIC STYLE

Favourite Photographer VS Favourite photo:

Perhaps by starting from a list of prolific photographers I admire, I could pick out from their works and narrow down the list of images that I think would help me to interpret their styles and improve in my own photography works. I think recognising the photographer’s cause in their practices and their consistency in their body of work is where I should begin my exploration.

STEVE MCCURRY   [ Photojournalism ]

WHY? In 2004, I came across a documentary about the search of the Afghan Girl, an iconic image which first got me interested to read up about his works. I was fifteen years then, still in secondary education. As I discover more of his works, his stories behind compelling images, and why he does it; I realized Steve McCurry’s photography is driven by his love of travel and discovering people’s culture. His photojournalistic images are so powerful, that they have impacted the world.

SEBASTIAO SALGADO   [ Photojournalism ]

WHY? Three visits to the Genesis photo exhibition and it still wasn’t enough for me. Each visit I had learnt a lot from the Brazilian photographer’s breath-taking works and his cause. What struck me most was the level of attention to aesthetic elements to his images is truly astounding; texture and patterns, layered with emotions. I found this to be consistent in each of his dramatic and expressive black and white images.

ANSEL ADAMS   [ Landscape ]

WHY: The works of Sebastiao Saldago had prompted me to re-learn the works of Ansel Adams, whom I regard as one of the masters of early landscape photography. His dedication, and experiences in capturing the landscape has left me captivated and wanting to understand what makes his images work. As I had first started with the love for landscape photography; his idea of pre-visualisation, and his preference of black and white images had me re-look at my own practices in photography.
OLIVIERO TOSCANI  [ Commercial ]

WHY? Oliviero Toscani was a photographer I came across while reading a book by Liz Wells. Learning the case of Benetton had me realized how much impact an image could make in the commercial advertising world and to what extent an image becomes unacceptable and controversial. From this case I admire Toscani for his daring concepts, challenging the limits of photography in the commercial world by employing thought-provocative imagery.

SERGE RAMELLI   [ Landscape ]

WHY? Serge Ramelli is a French photographer well known for his vivid landscape post-processing and Lightroom tutorials. He uses video podcasts to share his photographic workflow and digital editing techniques. What I like about his style was his cinematic approach in his photography and the way he embraces technology to dramatize his landscape images.

AARON NACE    [ Conceptual ]

WHY? I would think Aaron Nace as a conceptual photographer who inspires the next generation of creative individuals with his vast knowledge of various photography and photo manipulation techniques. I have learnt a lot from his way of conceptualizing an image and his approach in using technology to realize his concepts, often meticulous in planning stages. The advices of his photo analysis he gives to the community, usually room for improvement.

IMAGES INFLUENCING MY PHOTOGRPAHIC STYLE

Steve McCurry – Stilt fishermen, Sri Lanka, 1995
Sebastiao Salgado – Serra Pelada goldmine, Brazil, 1986
Ansel Adams – The Tetons and the Snake River, 1942
Oliviero Toscani – [Untitled?]
5 thoughts on “Defining My Photographic style

  1. Hello! Wonderful statement! I enjoy the way you described Defining My Photographic style.
    This blog is fantastic! It doesn’t very happy that most I’ve found it.

    All submissions are intriguing, notable and well crafted .

    This is actually the pass on lots of pieces of advice about guidelines on how to generate ability as a copywriter?
    Naturally this doesn’t devastating as an author not to mention it’s predominantly difficult now that
    teachers individuals institution of higher education continuously provide us formulating
    online tasks .
    That is certainly why, I chose to purchase paper
    from cardstock content blogs. And then to make it possible for I do won’t garbage my own cash on charade, I’ve visit this website http://www.apsense.com/ when I could possibly look into considerable and in addition practitioner testimonials different producing groups

    Like

  2. What you typed was very reasonable. But, what about this? suppose you were to
    create a killer headline? I am not suggesting your content isn’t solid,
    however suppose you added a post title that makes people desire more?

    I mean Defining My Photographic style – Oowen Photography is a little vanilla.

    You could peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create
    article titles to grab viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it could make your website a little bit more interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

