The hype about the total lunar eclipse, sometimes called ‘blood moon’, was that it coincides when the moon was particularly closest to Earth, a phenomenon called Supermoon. During this combination of events, the moon appeared a little larger and brighter than usual. Based on historical records, only five total lunar eclipses have coincided with a supermoon since 1900. Hence, the chances of both celestial events occurring together, a “Super Blood Moon”, are much rarer. This spectacle hasn’t been seen since 1982, and the next occurrence won’t happens again until 2033.

Over here in Norwich, the weather had been permitting for the folks to catch a glimpse of the event. However, the timing of the red moon was an early Monday, about 3.11 am. I started out at around two hours earlier, to find a good spot near my house to set up my camera. I sat in the middle of the road and waited patiently to see the reddening process of the bright moonlight. After an hour or so, my lenses and filters started to condense, and I began to tremble from the coldness. I checked the weather temperature on my phone, and realised it was 9 degrees and I was quite ‘underdressed’ with only my fleece jacket on!

As I felt the coldness became too unbearable for me (it was still quite early), I packed my stuff and went back into the house to wait for the red moon. Forty-five minutes later I head out again, this time, prepared with another layer of jacket and my winter gloves. Noting the position of the moon, I choose a different angle, but slightly nearer to my house. I didn’t have a telephoto lens, so I could only make do with what lenses I have, to focus on the comparison of the moon with the landscape. I saturated my multiple exposures to push out the stars and the colours out.

Overall I am satisfied with the outcome of the images I managed to produce, despite the external factor, I could not control (such as the cold temperature, the street lights, etc), as I knew what I was looking for with my lenses. I came back at 4.30am, ad then late for my Monday morning class.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

