Consultation: Andy Sapey 051015

Consultation with Andy Sapey was an enlightening experience for me at this point of junction. It seems I have slightly misinterpreted the project brief a little, under the impression that the assignment requires me to be consistent in my photographic style for all the images I am going to produce. So far what I have done, was to analyse one particular style that I felt I am similar to, and thus overly planned the shots how I wanted it to be.

After the Individual tutorial session, Andy’s advises were as follows:

  • To explore a visual approach:
    Lighting :  key , important for overall feel.
    Colour Palette  : Tone & Mood
    Composition : Format
  • How would I apply these elements throughout each image. Keeping the images all consistent.
  • Consider the works of Todd Hido, Nzdan Kander, Gregory Crewdson.

Moving forward from here, what I need to do, I think, is to keep the the current principles I have established for myself, and further explore other photographer styles pertaining to these principles, and analyse how these elements work before attempting my shots, keeping in mind the tight schedule.

IMG_3600

Leave a Reply

