Vantage Points

Searching for vantage points in Norwich has become increasingly difficult when it comes to scouting for landscape shots. Other than Mousehold heath, there are not a lot of high places where we get to see an overview of the city (with the other location being an overhead bridge). These were some of the many challenges I have faced while working on the Rough Cut assignment.

I was doing my usual groceries one evening, thinking of locations for landscape. As I looked up onto the opposite building, a multi-storey carpark, a sudden interest to explore the view up there came over me. This made me recall the infrastructures back in Singapore; there were more buildings than natural hills in the city-state country. Singapore is such a small country that most of her landscapes have become oversaturated with images taken by many people; any available view at the convenience of taking with cameras. Many of the interesting views I have taken before, were

This made me recall the infrastructures back in Singapore; there were more buildings than natural hills in the city-state country. Singapore is such a small country that most of her landscapes have become oversaturated with images taken by many people; any available view at the convenience of taking with cameras. However, despite the oversaturation of the same image contents, many of the creative and interesting landscape were taken from multi-storey carparks, a unique kind of view which perhaps only people with vehicles would only be aware of.

Armed with this knowledge, which made me rethink of location scouting, I began to look for vantage points through accessible multi-storey carparks in Norwich central. After researching, I found the only one location with good vantage points.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 10.26.06

IMG_5200

That evening when I accessed the carpark on the highest floor, it had a brilliant sunset, but slightly windy. A flock of birds dancing above the opposite building. After assessing the space, I eventually set up my camera in one corner where I would be able  to see the roundabout.

IMG_5176IMG_5186

I took two sets of images. The first set of images were multiple exposures to get the most detail out of the buildings in contrast with the deep blue sky; the second set were images at slow shutter speed, concentrating on light streaks on the road in contrast with the deep blue sky. I used Graduated Neutral Density filter (GND) to keep a balanced exposure in my images. Later I would blend all of them together on post production. All in all, I was pleased with the outcome.

IMG_5213v2

 

Leave a Reply

