Moving Images: In-Depth Progress

Early Stages & Planning

My research references led me to established my moving image on my central photographic theme, using the Cinemagraphic approach. I explore the techniques of Cinemagraph, double exposures, time lapse, and hyper lapse, etc. Contents of my video would be predominantly landscapes, further exploring how portraiture and still life could be influenced.

Work Processes

While taking into Consideration on the possible location and visual contents, I created a pseudo-storyboard table, which would form the basis of my video sequences.

Screen Shot 2015-12-23 at 16.03.01

Technical Considerations

Landscape time lapse pieces were mostly 5D Mk III and a tripod, a wide angle lens, and a clicker. Still life and portraiture sequences were based on the type of lenses used for photography. considering the file size of the final video, I determined a medium image size would suffice for all my productions. the table below shows the guideline I have established for workflow.

Final Video Form
QuicktimeCodec: Sorenson Video1920x108025 FPSPALAudio
Image Form
Image sequence
M Raw + Jpeg2300 x 1200
Timelapse FormQuicktimeCodec: Animation1920x108025 FPSPAL  AE formQuicktimeCodec: Animation1920x108025 FPSPAL 

 

Post Process and Editing Work Flow

For my work processes, I categorise my workflow into different phases. Due to the complex nature of editing cinemagraphic moving images, I think it is essential to keep the flow organised as much as possible.

In phase one, I import my raw images into Lightroom and Photoshop, for post-processing of images. I apply the edits across all my image sequences before re-export them to jpeg files. In phase two, I open these files into Photoshop to apply auto align images to all shaky sequences and save them again.

For the next phase, I import the image sequence into Premiere pro, to create time-lapse sequences. I then export the sequence to video with “Animation” settings. My rationale for choosing “Animation” setting was because it offers an extremely high resolution of video footages to work on, without the need to to reference back to thousands of photo images.

Phase four: using the video footages, I could create the cinemagraphic effect in After Effects, as well as create moving double exposures. I would need to do a rotoscoping on the worst case scenario. By re-rendering it to animation settings, I could still retain a relatively high resolution for the final phase.

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 19.19.18

Last but not least, I come back to Premiere Pro to do a rough cut. I apply music and text edits to the master sequence, before exporting to the final video form.

Leave a Reply

