A Portraiture Series

This series began with a friend, Anastasia, a portraiture I helped took at the start of the school term. I was glad she offered to help me out with my portraiture assignments when I was looking around for some collaboration with people.

IMG_2053v2IMG_3298IMG_3317v2IMG_4144v2 IMG_4048v2

IMG_4074

Portraiture was not my forte and I spent a quite a long while in exploration. I tried outdoor portraiture sessions, and I tried indoor studio shoot I built in my room. It was a challenging process as I still did not know what I was looking for.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 10.17.49 copy

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 10.18.04 copy

Untitled Session0068
Untitled Session0094 Untitled Session0001

Apart from the assignment brief, we did other shoots for exploration. I thought the session in the school studio turned out quite well, even though it wasn’t coherent to my assignment in any way. she wore two outfits for that shooting session; one a Chinese costume I borrowed from another friend and the other of her own.

IMG_6071
Anastasia.

The latest piece was shot outdoors at Mousehold Heath. As she looks on to the sunset over the horizon, I caught her gaze at side profile. I like her expression on this image, and I did not use saturated colours. Instead, I opted for a more subtle tone, and it worked well with her expression. I am happy with the outcome of this portraiture, even though it was not what I need.

I am glad to have worked with such a patient friend, who would contribute her creative ideas in each and every of her portraits. But well, I guess I am the kind of person who needs to understand people on a personal level first before making the exposure.

Leave a Reply

