Directed Study Week: Who are you Creatively?

With two weeks to work on the video assignment during the Study week, we were to collect and collate research, images, references, clips, texts, theory, music or interests.

Using the Creative Brain exercise I did earlier on as a reference point, I mapped out a plan; things that interests or influences me. This creative brain exercise has been particularly useful in guiding my creative direction throughout my photography assignments.

Creative Identity

As I consider the contents of my video as well as its visuals, I realised that these interests and influences should form an intricate part of my creativeness in me, just like neurones in the brain which connect to the nervous system. These neurones are the main components that process and transmits information through electrical and chemical signals. They connect to each other and are the core components of the brain ad the nervous system. Neurones in the brain are akin to the structure of trees- roots, trunk, branches. which I can also relate to in my landscapes (with reference to growth and structure catalogue exhibition). As much as I make categorization for easy references, these subjects are also interrelated at some point.

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 00.32.13

My love for food and cuisines enables me to explore into food photography. It is also influenced by cultures across countries, which my interest in landscape photography developed. Destinations such as Japan, New Zealand and Iceland are some places which I hope to visit. HDR and time-lapse photography are definitely my style of capturing the essence of these places, because of influences from certain people as well as movies.

In addition, I choose to work with a collage of moving images; of people’s work. It is a representation of the various subjects which influences my creative brain (with due credits), not my works. While there are many things that form part of my creative brain, I can only select a small handful of subjects compiled into the three-minute video.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.30.54Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.32.01Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.32.20Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.32.43Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.33.07

**************************************

Technicalities

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 12.49.59

When planning my visuals, I developed the idea of utilising visual effects to represent the complexities of the neurones in the brain. I looked at Visual Effects Artist, Andrew Kramer’s title sequence tutorials in Video Copilot. As someone who likes intricate structure, this fits the bill. I took this tutorial one step further, making it more organic by adding more camera movements. For music, I wanted something with an epic/ cinematic feel, and yet under three minutes. After looking at digital music artist Ryan Talbert’s’ works, I eventually decided to work with his piece, ‘Honour’.

For my project file, I edited my reference clips, picking certain portions in Premiere Pro, and used After Effects to render out visual effects sequences. Settings for these effects are entirely different from that of the tutorial. However, I retained the greenish colour for the ‘neurones’. I then piece these rendered sequences in Premiere pro. The challenging part was that I had to re-render these effects and camera movement again if it doesnt look right when editing sequences. I used ‘Dynamic link’ on Premiere Pro and After effects for a more efficient workflow. Last but not least, I added my ‘Creative brain’ exercise and credit reference clips on the last bit of the video.

Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 13.29.26Screen Shot 2016-02-19 at 13.26.49

This project took me a week of research and around seventy hours of actual production. This activity has enabled me to better appreciate my own works and continue to strive for the better. All in all, I enjoyed the learning process and I might consider using this as a base template to work on my future photography showreel.

Leave a Reply

