Interdisciplinary week

Lecturer Juneko once asked me how I felt about the Interdisciplinary courses and what made me choose the ones I have attended. My response was that I chose the courses that were beneficial to my promotional package plans for my third year. I could consult the lecturers for advice about my plans.

Namecard Design – 060416

Before the Tuesday session, I had already created two variations of my card design during the Easter break. It was only a matter of translating them from Photoshop into Indesign. His lecture notes were particularly useful as it made me think of the details I have not included in my name card proposal previously.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 20.39.54Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 20.40.02

During the session, Graphic Design lecturer, Darren leader introduced a G.F. Smith paper reference book, explaining to us about the different paper materials we could use to print name cards and postcards. After browsing the pages, I have picked out a few possible paper material for name cards, postcards, and considered other prints as well.

IMG_1017

After the session, I consulted the Graphic Design lecturer about my design concepts.  I had the idea of using a translucent paper material for my name card. Overall it was a positive response, and he gave me further advice for research development on the paper material.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 18.39.20

 

 

Making Japanese Book Cover Box – 070416

Learning how to make a Japanese Book cover box has been a fun process. I have not done it before and it was my first experience. It was also a great opportunity to know the attendees.

IMG_0629IMG_0611IMG_0625IMG_0628

During the process, I made some alterations to the original guide. I fumbled a few mistakes but managed to improvise with the support of the lecturer.

IMG_0617IMG_0615

Final Product

IMG_0632

This session has piqued my interest in exploring the possibility of incorporating these Japanese book cover box into my packaging plans. I hope to be able to learn the art of making Japanese books someday.

Leave a Reply

