Every year around this time in November is a time where everyone would be able to see spectacular displays of fireworks.

Guy Fawkes Night, also known as Bonfire night, is an annual British tradition to back to the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, when Catholic conspirator Guy Fawkes was arrested for attempting to blow up the Houses of Parliament and King James I. Hence, the anniversary of Fawkes’ arrest is celebrated each year with bonfires and fireworks in the UK.

This year, I decided to capture these fireworks display in Norwich from a vantage point in Mousehold Heath. Fortunately, the evening weather was dry and good. The visibility was so clear I could even see the crescent moon rising above the city!

I arrived early to recce for the best spot. As the time for fireworks got nearer, more people turned up. Children started twirling their torch lights at the front. Finding the best angle suddenly became a challenge, and I had to re-position my tripod a few meters nearer.

I managed to snag a few good shots of the fireworks, but in my opinion wasn’t as good as those I have captured last year. I had the idea of juxtaposing the big crowd in front of the fireworks display but was too late to reposition my camera.

In a short few minutes, the display had ended as fast as it began. I then decided to hang on for a little while longer to capture the aftermath of the fireworks. I turned my camera in the opposite direction and made some exposures of people heading down the hill. I was intrigued by the result. Here are some captures from that night.

Leave a Reply

