Consultation: Ellen Rogers 131216

img_1054img_1058

For this consultation session, I was arranged to see Lecturer Ellen Rogers to discuss the progress of my photographic works. My initial plan was to seek her advice on the portraiture images I have produced from my last shoot. She was probably one of the best lecturers for advice when it comes to fashion shoots.

I let her view all of my works, potential contenders for the 15 images, then the portraiture prints. At first glance from these prints, the shoot looks technically good, but I still sort of didn’t like it as there were other details I did not look at due to time constraint and stress during the shoot. Her advice was  that while having my business cards up now is a good move sinceI can use it to approach models, I needed to reflect back on the photo analysis again.

Her advice was that while having my business cards up now is a good move sinceI can use it to approach models, I needed to reflect back on the photo analysis again and research to show where to go next.

Perhaps look at Storm Thorgerson’s works. not exactly a photographer, but he’s style of imagery of the landscape is quite iconic, surreal, and provocative.

For fashion shoots, look at Lavazza Branding/ adverts. Form an analysis of these Lavazza advert images, understand its opulent narrative. What to talk about in analysis of the advert:

Ruin, expression, fashion, brand, culture, fantasy, colour, make-up, etc.

Another possible analysis about narrative, look at Jeff Wall’s tableaux, which can be detailed or minimal.

Leave a Reply

