My visual editing process was inspired by a Thai (presumably) a photographer, by the name of CoolBieЯe’s Folio on his facebook page, who had put up some visuals to explain the editing process of his images. The comments section were all in Thai and I do not understand what they were saying, but it garnered a lot of positive responses and I thought it was a good way to show people how the final result of an image was achieved and the thoughts behind.

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 02.00.11 copyScreen Shot 2017-05-14 at 02.00.29 copyScreen Shot 2017-05-14 at 02.01.00 copy

It’s a bit similar to a print map in the analogue photography, where it the photographer make markings on the image on a piece of paper as to how he/she wants to interpret on the negatives. The photographer would then go on to develop the negatives. The difference is that I’m editing my photos digitally and it is much faster compare to the analogue process.

I decided to try it out for my BA3a. The downside was that it required extra effort to prepare the screenshot images and compile them into a single image. However, I had found it to be extremely helpful in illustrating my thought processes for my edits.

Hence I will be doing it again for BA3b, on selected images.

 

Leave a Reply

