Berlin Trip (Part 1)

Update 1: 20.02.17
Update 2: 26.03.17
Update 3: 08.04.17
Update 4: 10.04.17

As my works have been of landscape photography, naturally the more places I visit the better for me. Even though the trip to Berlin was a budget school trip planned by the lecturers in charge, I had different plans I wanted to get out of during the trip. So I planned a different itinerary and updated the lecturers. they have been supportive of my endeavours.

For part two of my Berlin trip, click here .

Planning & Research

The first thing I did was to get onto 500px.com to search for cityscapes of berlin to get a better idea of what the city really looks like. I searched the internet for possible places to visit, off the beaten track, minus the touristy attractions, as well as vantage points around Berlin. From there I mark down all the locations and then opened the google map to see where they are. At this point, I still reply on 500px to see what are kind of images I could get out of these locations. Taking into account where our lodging will be and the places where the cohort will be visiting, I would fit possible locations into my “timetable” and places that were out of my reach would be marked out.

Places to Visit 

I have divided locations to visit into a few categories for my planning purposes. This was a simple four-day-five-night itinerary which incorporated some of the lecturer’s itinerary. However, it took me a while to figure out getting around the finer details, such as food and transitioning from one location to another. The objective of this planning was to explore as much as I could without overspending as I needed to save my budget for my bigger Iceland trip.

Must-visit-locations: Siegessaule, Victory Column | Holocaust Memorial | Bauhaus Museum | Berlin Wall

Berlin Haze by Søren Thuesen on 500px.com
Berlin Haze by Søren Thuesen on 500px.com
Berlin Victory Column by Gabriel Walther on 500px.com
Berlin Victory Column by Gabriel Walther
Berlin - Panorama from the Siegessäule by Nicholas Olesen on 500px.com
Berlin – Panorama from the Siegessäule by Nicholas Olesen
Speechless in Berlin by Jelle Canipel on 500px.com
Berlin by Jelle Canipel

Inspired-locations (& Vantage Points): Kollhoff Tower |Berliner Auster | Zionkirche | Teufelsberg |Berlin Lustgarten Cathedral

Berlin. by Rudy Balasko on 500px.com
Berlin. by Rudy Balasko
Berliner Auster by Stefan Thaler on 500px.com
Berliner Auster by Stefan Thaler
Teufelsberg by Claudio De Sat on 500px.com
Teufelsberg by Claudio De Sat
Floating Water by Christian Seidenberg on 500px.com
Floating Water by Christian Seidenberg

When-I-have-the-time:  Reichstag | Berlin Messe Nord

Reichstag Dome Berlin by Ronak Gandhi on 500px.com
Reichstag Dome Berlin by Ronak Gandhi
Bundestag_Berlin.jpg by Ren_Wu on 500px.com
Bundestag Berlin by Ren_Wu
Berlin Messe Nord/ICC by Søren Thuesen on 500px.com
Berlin Messe Nord/ICC by Søren Thuesen

Weather

Knowing that its winter season in the UK, Ive used various weather forecast websites tocheck the temperature in Berlin so that I can better preparation. I thought it would be quite similar to that of UK. I also took into account the sunrise and sunset and the median time.

Transportation

As Berlin’s U-Bahn is one of the most complex subways in the world and being my first time there, it would be prudent for me to check in advance in getting across from one location to another to avoid getting lost and making sure no wasting more time with detours. Thus, my day-to-day locations were planned with the consideration of transportation in transition from one place to another.

Preparing Schedule

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 21.42.14

For part two of my Berlin trip, click here .

References

http://www.cityhostel-berlin.com/blog/post/great-vantage-points-berlin

http://onwardphoto.org/berlin-11-spots/

Leave a Reply

