Analysis: Print Consideration

Some thoughts I had for my prints were that I wanted my final prints to highlight the contrast of vivid colours and structural style effectively. There should be a smooth tonal transition from shadows to highlight. I had the preference for Lustre or semi gloss over Matt as I thought that would suit well with my photographic style. I had three considerations of paper types and had them test printed.

Baryta Fine Art Paper Vs Photo Rag Paper

Baryta paper enables rich blacks, wide gamuts, great contrast and sharpness, and smooth tonal transitions on my images. It also has that bit of texture on the paper. PhotoRag paper were the ‘regular’ paper we use to print for our submissions. The Oyster Lustre finish is the perfect combination for my photographic style. I have tested both the Baryta Fine art and Photo Rag paper, I realised I still liked the photo Rag paper more. The fact that we often print them for submission kind of give the idea that it’s cheap and of low quality. But actually in fact quite the opposite (at least for me). In addition, I don’t have to spend more to purchase separate paper as that will cost more money for me. Hence, I decided to stick with Photo Rag paper.

Metal Print / Infused Metal Print

This print process uses Dye Sublimation to print onto metal plates. This is what I wanted for my final exhibition images.

*******************************************

Free Range Exhibition Proposal

29th June – 5th July

 

Free Range is the platform for showing the best works. Since I would not be staying in the UK after graduation, the aim of showing my work is not about getting future work in London, but rather to get myself noticed. This work needs to be of the highest quality yet realistically achievable and on a reasonable budget. In consideration of my landscape photography style, which is a focus on vibrant colours and structural contrast, I have developed a general preference towards lustre and gloss finish. I have found that infused metal prints could be the best representation of my work. Hence, I intend to exhibit one landscape image in large format metal print. For contingency plans, I am considering Acrylic print and Hahnemuhle Oyster Lustre paper as alternatives.

Potential Market Audience

After graduation, I may not be able to carry the metal plate back home, due to its bulkiness. Hence, I am also keeping the option open, of selling the print away for a profit. Potential buyers could be art collectors or corporations looking for quality fine art prints. 

Limitations

I have been shooting on full frame cameras, these images would not be able to compete in the medium format range. The ideal quality for full frame would be 24×16, or A2 equivalent. 

Dimension Reference

Size Width x Height (mm) Width x Height (cm) Width x Height (cm)
Maximum 2000 x 2000 mm 200 x 200 cm 78.74 x 78.74 in
A0 841 x 1189 mm 84.1 x 118.9 cm 33.1 x 46.8 in
A1 594 x 841 mm 59.4 x 84.1 cm 23.4 x 33.1 in
A2 420 x 594 mm 42.0 x 59.4 cm 16.5 x 23.4 in
A3 297 x 420 mm 29.7 x 42.0 cm 11.7 x 16.6 in

 

Proposed: HD Metal Prints

Infused metal prints can make colours extraordinary vibrant and the depth of coating gives the contrast in photos a luminous quality that no paper can achieve.

Specifications

Print type:       Dye Sublimation
Paper:              Aluminium Metal
Dimension:       33.1” x 46.8” (A0 equivalent)                        .           24” x 16” (A2 equivalent)
Mounting:       Float Mount
Frame:            None
Budget:           min £265.95                                        .           min £85.95

Reference

https://uk.whitewall.com/photo-lab/alu-dibond/hd-metal-print

Proposed Alternative (1): Acrylic Print

Specifications

Print type: Ultra HD Photo Print Under Acrylic Glass
Paper: Kodak Metallic
Dimension:      33.1” x 46.8”   (A0 equivalent)           .      24” x 16” (A2 equivalent)
Mounting: Slimline Case with Aluminum Rails        .     Slimline Case with Aluminum Rails
Frame:            None                                                   .           None
Budget:           min £375.95                                        .           £98.95

Reference

https://uk.whitewall.com/acrylic-photo-print-ultra-hd
https://uk.whitewall.com/photo-frame-acrylic-print-aluminium-case

Proposed Alternative (2):  Giclee Lustre Print

[Spectrum]

Print type:       Giclee Print, Lustre
Paper:              Hahnemuhle Photo Rag 308 gsm
Dimension:      33.1” x 46.8”   (A0 equivalent)                 .                 24” x 16” (A2 equivalent)     Mounting:       Dibond with subframes
Frame:            Wooden Frame                                   .           + £30
Budget:           min £374.44                                        .           > £50

 Reference

http://spectrumphoto.co.uk/giclee-prints

[Metro]

Print type:       Giclee Print, Lustre
Paper:              Hahnemuhle Photo Rag 308 gsm       .
Dimension:      48” x 36”         (A0 equivalent)             .                 24” x 16” (A2 equivalent)
Mounting:       Classic                                                 .           Classic
Frame:            Wooden Photo Frame (outside)            .           Floater Mount? (outside)
Budget:           £90 ++                                                 .           > £150

Reference

http://www.metro-print.co.uk/products/fine-art-giclee-prints/prices

Leave a Reply

